Educator of the Year

  • 2024 Educator of the Year

  • 2020 Educator of the Year

    Postponed-A new date will be posted shortly

    For more information, contact Amy Nore

Nominees for Educator of the Year
  • 2019 Educator of the Year

    CLASSIFIED EDUCATORS OF THE YEAR2019 Classified Educators of the Year

    From left: Melody LaChappa (Virginia School), Lori Wade (Lone Tree School), John Morton (Yuba Gardens), Michele Pearcy (Camptonville), Merri May (S. Lindhurst), Robin Embree (Wheatland High School), and Cecelia Torres (Cobblestone)


      2019 NEW TEACHER OF THE YEAR    2019 New Teacher of the Year From left: Chris Rios (Reio Del Oro), Rebecca Stewart (Yuba Gardens), Ryan Wallace (Marysville High School), Nadia Recendez (YCOE), Michele Gonzalez (Wheatland High School), and Amanda Taylor (Bear River)


    2019 Teacher of the Year From left: Nikki Westcamp (Covillaud), Tammy Bocksberger (Lone Tree), Pat Sartell (Virginia School), Dale Russett (Linda), Amanda Garceau (Riverside Meadows), and Chris Jorrin (Wheatland High School)


                 Educator of the year awards                                     Attendees of 2019 Educator of the year                    



    2018 Educator of the Year

    The Yuba County Office of Education sponsored the Educator of the Year ceremony and dinner Thursday, April 12, 2018 at Wheatland High School to recognize and honor exemplary teachers and classified staff from schools throughout Yuba County. The evening’s theme was ‘Yuba County Educator of the Year: Because we care!’
    The celebration was held at the Wheatland High School gymnasium with the school’s student leadership team helping transform the venue into an elegant and formal affair. In addition, the school’s stage band provided entertainment with dinner being served by students from Chef Kuulei Moreno’s class. Moreno is an award winning Chef and television cooking personality.

    District superintendents, school board members, colleagues and family members of recognized teachers and classified staff attended the event.

    County Superintendent Reveles noted ‘This is something that was long overdue. The County Office of Education took the lead in collaborating with area school districts in recognizing exemplary educators at all levels.’

    The event also served as the first step in nominating Yuba County certificated and classified staff for state competition to be held later this year. ‘Given the recent headlines surrounding school violence, this event highlighted the hard work and dedication of all our area educators, both classified and certificated.’ Reveles emphasized.

    Teachers nominated were Sara Spiers from Camptonville Elementary School, Melissa Morse from Bear River School, Kara Wininger from Cobblestone Elementary, Jeff Magill from Wheatland Union High School and Chris Bowen from Harry PB Carden School with Chris Bowen selected to move on to the state competition.

    Classified staff nominated were Jose Ramirez, custodian at Riverside Meadows School, James Carr, bus driver for Wheatland Elementary School District and Jesse Castillo, Director of Fiscal Services at Wheatland Union High School District with James Carr and Jesse Castillo selected to move on to the state competition.